Board members

Peter LoxtonMr Peter Loxton, Chair

Mr Loxton has an extensive background with 40 years’ experience in the public sector, including 26 years in senior management roles. He spent more than ten years as Assistant Director General in the Department of Premier and Cabinet and 26 years in total in senior management roles.

He also acted as Director General in five agencies and spent 16 years in senior roles with the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC). 

Mr Loxton is enthusiastic about being actively involved with ideas, innovation, strategy, leadership and communication, to make important things happen.

Mr Murray Austin, Board Member 

Mr Austin has 25 years' experience in the management of scientific and educational organisations. He started his career as a scientist in hospital laboratories and developed skills in biochemistry, haematology and microbiology. He has worked in a range of pathology laboratory settings and previously held operations manager roles with the Institute of Clinical Pathology and Medical Research. Mr Austin also spent more than five years working in the Division of Analytical Laboratories (which became part of our Forensic & Analytical Science Service).

He has been a representative on the board of the National Coalition of Public Pathology (NCOPP), the Peak Pathology Council and various high-level committees and working parties within the public pathology sector. He also spent 20 years as National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA) assessor. Mr Austin currently works for the University of Western Sydney as a senior technical manager in the School of Science and Health. He is an advocate for continual improvement, strategic planning and the use of comprehensive, integrated quality systems.

Maree GleesonProfessor Maree Gleeson OAM, Board Member

Professor Gleeson has a wealth of experience in health, research and innovation. She is an immunologist who has held leadership and professional positions in health services, health policy, academia and medical research.

Professor Gleeson is an Emeritus Professor in the Faculty of Health at the University of Newcastle. She is a non-executive director on several boards including the Central Coast Local Health District board and the Hunter Valley Research Foundation. She is also the chair of the Central Coast Local Health District Research Committee and is on the National Health and Medical Research Council Principal Advisory Committee. 


Dr Michael Brydon, Board Member

Dr Brydon is the Chief Executive for the Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network. He has an extensive career in paediatrics and is an advocate for children and their families, highlighting the differences in their needs and ensuring a fair allocation of resources to paediatrics. 

Dr Brydon has held a number of senior management positions across local, state and national levels. As a result of these roles, he has established a wide network of personal partnerships, predominantly in the child health environment and gained significant expertise in clinical management and medical administration.

Mr Darren Turner, Board Member

Mr Turner is a partner at PwC with more than 30 years’ experience in professional auditing, accounting and advisory services. Mr Turner is a respected business leader who brings with him excellent corporate governance and financial expertise.

Michael LeggDr Michael Legg, Board Member

Dr Legg is a health informatician who first trained as a scientist and researcher in physiology and pathology. He has been a successful leader in the Australian health sector for more than 25 years with CEO roles in small, medium and large not-for-profit and for-profit organisations. 

Dr Legg is the Chair of the Informatics Advisory Committee of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia and Member of the Academic Board for Bioinformatics of the European Association for Predictive, Preventive and Personalised Medicine. 



Professor Nicholas Hawkins, Board Member 

Professor Nicholas Hawkins is a Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia with specialist qualifications in Anatomical Pathology. Professor Hawkins is the Director of the University of Queensland’s Office of Medication Education, as well as an experienced academic and researcher.

Kay Hyman portrait 12-11-15Ms Kay Hyman, Board Member 

Ms Hyman provides strategic leadership as the Chief Executive for the Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District and works in partnership with the LHD Board to ensure sound governance and the delivery of high quality, effective and efficient services. 

She gained over 20 years' experience in health management in Auckland, New Zealand, where she served as General Manager of Clinical Services for the Auckland District Health Board. She also has extensive experience in change management and service development.



Dr Nigel Lyons, Board Member 

Dr Lyons is the Deputy Secretary of Strategy and Resources at the NSW Ministry of Health. He has more than 30 years’ experience as a clinician, manager and executive in NSW Health, including Chief Executive of the NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation and the Hunter New England Area Health Service.